We live in an age where we cannot even imagine our life without Google. From a small class project to professional correspondence, humans have become Google dependent like never before. Besides, Google is your gateway to other services like Facebook, Twitter, online learning platforms, etc. After all, you cannot or don’t want to sign-up from scratch with every new digital platform you wish to log in to.
While life with Google is easy and breezy, it has a flip side also. The heavy reliance of users on search engines and gadgets has become a goldmine for hackers and cyber-criminals to exploit. Hence, there is a growing concern and awareness about online data privacy and user navigation. One of the first preventive measures that cross people’s mind is permanently deleting their google account. It’s not a bad idea though, to target the forest for the trees and get rid of all your privacy concerns and data misuse.
How to Delete Your Google Account Permanently
So, if you wish to know how to delete your Google account permanently, here are the steps:
Step 1: Log in to your Google Account.
Step 2: After logging in, you will see a page with various options. Choose the “Data & Privacy” option.
Step 3: Keep scrolling down until you locate “More Options”. Click that and find the “Delete your Google account” option.
Step 4: Next, click on the option that says “Delete your entire account and data.”
Step 5: After you choose this option, Google will take you through a verification process and follow it up with a confirmation of whether you wish to delete your account or not. It also warns you about the data you will lose on deleting your account and whether you wish to download it before proceeding further. Download your data if you wish and follow the instructions ahead.
Step 6: In the end, hit “Delete Account” and you will have deleted your Google account permanently.
But, What Will You Lose If You Delete Your Account Permanently
Knowing how to delete your Google account permanently is convenient for cutting yourself off from the online world with a few clicks, but you must also know what you will lose with it. Here is a list:
Your access to Google products, services, and subscriptions.
Your data in Gmail, Google Photos, and Google Calendar.
Your Google services will stop like YouTube, Google Play, Google Music, etc.
Your contacts are saved in your Google Account and not on your device.
Your Google Drive data.
The Bottom Line
How to delete your Google account permanently is a straightforward question with a straightforward process. Before hitting the “Delete Account” option, make sure to go through all the terms and conditions of your data storage on Google as all of it gets wiped out when you press delete.